[cm_ad_changer campaign_id="1"]

Nomvethe' star is shinning more brighter



SIYABONGA Nomvethe stole the night during the Absa Premiership Awards held at the Golf Reef City on Sunday night.

The Moroka Swallows veteran striker walked away with four awards, the Top Goal-Scorer , the Players Player of the Season, the Player of the Season and Footballer of the Season awards which saw him took home the whooping R600 000.

Bhele as the ageing striker proved that he still has what it take after having rattled the net 20 times in league matches with his closest rival, Eleazar Rodgers of the troubled Santos having scored 13 goals.

Nomvethe piped team-mate David “DVD” Mathebula and Siyabonga “Nzimbi” Sangweni to the top award, the Absa Premiership Footballer of the Year which made him R250 000 richer.

As if that was not enough, 34 year-old Nomvethe who was recently included in the senior national team, Bafana Bafana also pocketed R300 000, R150 000 for the Players Player of the Year and the other R150 000 for the Player of the Year respectively before adding that with an extra R50 000 for the Golden Boot Award.

The other player who has had a big night at the awards was Orlando Pirates’ Benni McCarthy who took home R250 000 for the Telkom Knockout’s Player of the Tournament (R200 000) and the Absa Premiership Absa-lutely Awesome Goal of the Season (R50 000).

The rest of the winners are:

Nyasha Mushekwi (Nedbank Cup Player of the Tournament), Nedbank Cup Young Player of the Tournament (Thabiso Nkoana), Oupa Manyisa (MTN 8 Last Man Standing), Wayne Sandilands (Absa Premiership Goalkeeper of the Season) and Ronwen Williams (Absa Premiership Red Hot Young Player of the Season.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.